Monday, May 13, 2013

"The Winnowing Season" by Cindy Woodsmall

Price: $14.99
Format: Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780307730046
The Winnowing Season is book 2 in the series and follows A Season for Tending. The main female character is Rhoda Byler who has a gift of being able to intuitively know what is about to happen. Some call this a hunch. Some call it "second sight." But some deem it witchcraft or evil. But Rhoda has lived with this gift virtually her entire life and has learned to suppress and hide it from the people around her. Because, you see, the Amish deem it evil. But Rhoda is a woman of God and one who seeks His will in all she does.

Next we have Jacob and Samuel King, owners of the fabled King Apple Orchards and brothers. Both men have begun to love Rhoda but Jacob seems to be winning the courtship.

The story begins in book two on the heels of a devastating tornado that brought ruin to Kings Orchard. A group of Amish from the community have sought out new land in Maine and are leaving to begin a totally new Amish community in Maine. Rhoda is especially looking forward to a new life in a new community freed from the whispers and seeming hatred of her current Amish community. Before they can leave, though, Rhoda is called before the controlling and governing body of Amish pastors regarding her "gift."

It is difficult to understand the concept of church government and judging as is followed in the Amish communities unless one has been exposed personally to such.  This meeting has strictly observed rules, regulations, and order peculiar to the Amish. It needs to be understood that there would be differences in communities of Amish believers so they would not all follow this plan. The matter for Rhoda is ultimately resolved and the group leaves for Maine.

This story line involves a lot of conflict between individuals and brings to light the possible harshness that can exist in the life of seemingly peaceful, plain folk.

As I have come to expect, Cindy Woodsmall has again produced a very good read that is clean and a joy to read.  But then, we would expect such from a New York Times Best-Selling Author of Christian fiction. I am looking forward to the September 2013 release of book 3 in the Amish Vines and Orchards Series - Every Season.

DISCLOSURE: I received a complimentary copy of The Winnowing Season from Blogging for Books on behalf of Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group and the author in exchange for my honest opinion. No other goods were exchanged. Opinions expressed are solely my own.

Author info: Cindy Woodsmall is a best-selling author of numerous works of fiction and non-fiction book Plain Wisdom whose connection with the Amish community has been featured on ABC Nightline, in the Wall Street Journal, and throughout other Christian and general news outlets. She lives outside of Atlanta with her family.

1 comment:

  1. I like to read this author, have read several of her books. I have enjoyed reading about the character of Rhoda, The brothers she meets are also some great characters. Hope to read the whole series.
    thanks for sharing your comments
    Paula O(


Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment here at Chat With Vera. If you need to contact me directly, please use the "Comment Me" email associated with this blog and posted in the sidebar.