Sunday, January 15, 2012

"Love Blooms in Winter" by Lori Copeland: Book Review

Lori Copeland's newest book, "Love Blooms in Winter" was released January 2012.  Set in 1892 - this is the first in the Dakota Diaries series of books.

Set in North Dakota during  the Winter, the story begins with the female lead, Mae,  working as postmistress in the small town's general store.  She is a young single lady responsible for the care of her mentally challenged young brother.

Across the street from where Mae and Jeremy live is the home of Pauline, a very elderly lady who has no family and encroaching dementia.  Mae being a kind, caring, Christian young lady has undertaken the care of Pauline; but she is growing desperate knowing that Pauline needs the care of real family.  The problem is, Pauline can't recall having any "kin."

The storyline develops and the male lead, Tom, enters the scene.  There are hysterically  funny moments and distinct personalities that will leave you chuckling or with a warm-fuzzy feeling.

This is an easy, relaxing read and the author, Lori Copeland, captures the personality and characterization of the townspeople.  The story is woven with bits and pieces of early Americana and the life and hardships endured during the early settlement of the Dakotas.

Lori Copeland has written well over 40 books and brings to the table pleasant reads that are woven with the threads of Christianity.  I highly recommend her books.
ISBN: 978-0-7369-3019-2

Harvest House Publishers provided a complimentary copy of Love Blooms in Winter by Lori Copeland for my review.  I was not required to post a positive review.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment here at Chat With Vera. If you need to contact me directly, please use the "Comment Me" email associated with this blog and posted in the sidebar.