Saturday, September 14, 2013

"A Surprise for Lily" by: Mary Ann Kinsinger, Suzanne Woods Fisher (series: The Adventures of Lily Lapp)

Paperback: $12.99
In the first three books in the series The Adventures of Lily Lapp, we've seen young Lily experience many life events - daily struggles, happiness of being a little girl growing up in a happy home, sadness at inevitable life events, good friends and bad friends, good adults and adults that behave poorly. And in A Surprise for Lily, book four, as a fifth grader she experiences more of the same and then more new choices and events come her way, too.

The book starts out with Lily and best friend Hannah getting in a rowboat and pushing off into the middle of the pond. Well, that ends up poorly. But it is a lesson learned just as many lessons are learned by Lily each day.

They discover a lost puppy and give him a home. The Amish tend to care much for animals and are certain that their needs are met. Little Dozer, the puppy, brings joy to the children in the Lapp household.

As Lily continues to endure the poor attitude and actions another little girl in the community, Effie, she learns valuable lessons in right and wrong behavior. She also learns from one of the boys who continues to be the bane of her existence, Aaron Yoder. She learns he is not all bad and he has some pretty good traits.

I have lots of grand children, and I have grand daughters, a 9-year old and a 7-year old, that wait excitedly for each new Lily Lapp book to come out. I know book four will not disappoint them. Just as Lily has learned lessons, my grand daughters learn lessons. They learn from Lily's mishaps and joys as well.

Again, I highly recommend The Adventures of Lily Lapp. If you haven't acquired the first three books, you can read book four as a stand alone. But I highly recommend the entire series.

Who wrote the book? 
Mary Ann Kinsinger was raised Old Order Amish in Somerset County, Pennsylvania. She is the coauthor of the Adventures of Lily Lapp series and lives in Pennsylvania.

Suzanne Woods Fisher is the bestselling author of the Lancaster County Secrets series and the Stone Ridge Seasons series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish,including Amish Peace. She lives in California. For more information, please visit and connect with her on Twitter @suzannewfisher.

DISCLOSURE: I received a complimentary copy from Revell Book Bloggers. Opinions expressed are solely my own. I received no compensation for the review.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment here at Chat With Vera. If you need to contact me directly, please use the "Comment Me" email associated with this blog and posted in the sidebar.