Saturday, February 16, 2013

"Humble Heart: A book of virtues" by Amy Meyer Allen

ISBN: 978-1-4143-8069-8

In Humble Heart we meet a variety of cute critters such as Percie Pig and Felicity Frog.  They and the others featured in Humble Heart are learning about virtues:

Humility, Love, Thoughtfulness, Faithfulness, Mercy, Encouragement, Comfort, Courage, and Joy.

While this is a cute book, in my opinion it is designed  to be used with parent leading and reading to the child.  The author writes little stories about the critters such as: "Percie was angry! Someone ruined her garden. Who would do something so mean? She followed muddy footprints. Aha! Barnabas Bunny must have walked through her garden." (You see, we meet Barnabas Bunny in another little story.)

Each of the Humble Bumbles are imperfect just like us. But they can learn virtues just as we can. Each of the nine virtues addressed in this little book is listed in the back of the book with a Scripture verse and reference to reinforce it.

Humble Heart is not a large book, but neither is it small.  It is designed to be read to children and used instructionally so that they can learn virtues.  The illustrations are simple line drawings with bold colors.  I see this as a good tool for use in the home where children can learn virtues and how to deal with their feelings.
DISCLOSURE: A complimentary copy was provided by Tyndale Blog Network on behalf of the publisher, Tyndale Kids, and the author, Amy Meyer Allen, in exchange for my honest review. Opinions expressed are solely my own.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment here at Chat With Vera. If you need to contact me directly, please use the "Comment Me" email associated with this blog and posted in the sidebar.