Monday, July 31, 2017

The Beginning (The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls #1) by M.J. Thomas & illustrated by Graham Howells

On sale August 8, 2017
ISBN: 9780824956844

A Time-Traveling Adventure Series Helping Kids Discover the Bible

Bible story books teach in a variety of methods the truths of the Bible enabling children to learn and comprehend at an early age. As the child's reading skills expand they want to read chapter books and they want to be entertained. It is especially nice when these new levels of reading can also teach in an entertaining and enjoyable manner the truths of the Bible.

Mike Thomas wanted such stories for his own children so they could learn in a fun, imaginative way. Since he found none to his liking, he decided to write his own series. Hence "The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls" was born.

I don't have kiddies at home anymore, but I do have grandchildren and I do love to see Christian school libraries stocked with books that present Christian truths in a readable, fun, entertaining way. As I began reading my advance reader's copy of book one in the series, "The Beginning," I immediately saw that the writing style was easy flowing and well written using good grammar (no, this is sadly not necessarily a truism in children's books), and written as to assume the reader has intelligence and can comprehend.

The story method here is a bit of escapism and fantasy into time travel where they, Peter and Mary and the dog, go back to the beginning - the Creation - and..... well, you simply must read it yourself, won't you? There are 107 pages with a sprinkling of cute illustrations and the age 6 to 9 reader will surely enjoy.

Pre-order Book #1 or Book #2 in The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls & receive exclusive digital content. Hurry! Offer expires on August 8, 2017. Check exclusives & how to pre-order @

About the book: The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls series follows siblings Peter and Mary and their dog, Hank, as they discover ancient scrolls that transport them back to key moments in biblical history.

In the first adventure in the series, Peter and Mary find themselves witnesses to the creation of the world just as God is speaking it into existence. Can they unlock the mystery of the scrolls before they get trapped in history forever? Children will discover the answer as the two characters ride rhinos, meet the angel Michael, and talk to a certain snake in the Garden of Eden. Riveting text and engaging illustrations bring this beloved Bible story to riotous life.
Happy author with his books in
Christian book store in Tennessee
DISCLOSURE: I received complimentary advance readers copies to facilitate this review and promotional activities. I was not compensated. Opinions are my own.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment here at Chat With Vera. If you need to contact me directly, please use the email associated with this blog and posted in the sidebar.